Triggers and Ways of Coping

My day yesterday started off just like any other day. I did the same things I always do. Got my son ready for school, let the dogs out, put on some laundry. I had no more or less stress than I have had for a couple of weeks now. (Money problems mostly) But while going through my usual morning routine I was suddenly paralyzed by a severe panic attack.

My heart raced, I started to sweat (on the first day of winter), my whole body shook and then the tears started to flow.

After about 20 minuets I was able to move again. I had been standing in the hallway, just stuck. I don’t know what triggered it or what snapped me out of it. Thinking back, I am at a loss to explain any of it.

I have had many people tell me many different things about MY panic attacks. Here are some of the things I have been told trigger my attacks and why they either make sense or don’t.

My GP says it’s a build up of stress that just needs to be vented… This could be the case. I have always been the type of person that bottles things up and never asks for help.

Current Physiologist says they are caused by a suppressed memory trying to come to the surface and its my minds way of pushing it back down cause I don’t want to know… This also could be it but it does not really help explain what triggers it or how to deal with it when it does happen.

My BF thinks it just that I have been strong for too long and my mind is just to tired to pretend anymore… but he’s just trying to justify having a girlfriend who is bat shit crazy.

My son (11 yrs old) says that it is my dead mother trying to get in touch with me… lol he’s a bit cute. Strange, but cute.

Everything I have read online is different. Some sites say its stress, others say its fear or excitement. And some say its caffeine and horror movies that can cause panic attacks.

So I thought I would ask for your thoughts. Leave me a comment and let me know what triggers your attacks and if you have any special ways of coping with them. I am very interested to see if there is a link or if it is personalized to each individual. Thanks.

2 responses to “Triggers and Ways of Coping

  1. It could be any of the things you have listed here. For me it is stress that flips the switch on a memory that is hiding just below the surface.I am a trauma survivor so PTSD plays a big part in my panic attacks. It can be a smell, a sound, a voice are even the size of the room. The best advise I can offer is try to be mindful and use self talk to help walk you through the attack. That’s what works for me. Hang in there.

    • Thanks for you comment and your words of support. It is interesting to me to read about other peoples triggers as I am yet to discover any common theme in my own.

Gimme your thoughts...

