Daily Prompt: Back to the Future

Daily Prompt: Back to the Future.

Anachronism (noun): an error in chronology; a person or thing that’s chronologically out of place. Write a story in which a person or thing is out of place, or recount a time when you felt out of place.

I always feel out of place. I have always gotten along better with people older than myself as if I was born at the wrong time. But even in a room full of my elders I still feel out of place because while I can relate to and interact on the same level as them, I feel like an outsider because I was not born into their generation.

If you were to put me into a room full of my peers I would be the one standing in the corner checking my watch and preying for time to move faster so I could leave. It would be almost impossible for me to find anything in common with them and I would just be the odd one out.

My entire high school career is a perfect example of this. I was chronologically the same age as my class mates and we attended the same school, but that is as far as the similarity’s went. They would talk about current trends and I would just think how ridiculous they were. Where they thought wearing two tons of make-up to school was awesome, I found it to be an expensive waste of time. Why get all prettied up to go and educate yourself… its not going to make you any smarter and it just makes your morning routine take longer. They thought hanging out in the mall on a Friday night was a good night out… I much preferred drinks and movies at my (older) friends place.

I have never really fit in anywhere and I don’t suppose I ever will. I guess I am just wired differently.

One response to “Daily Prompt: Back to the Future

  1. Pingback: La Sagrada Família | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Gimme your thoughts...

