Daily Prompt: Never Again

Daily Prompt: Never Again.

Have you ever gone to a new place or tried a new experience and thought to yourself, “I’m never doing that again!”

The first and only time I tried heroin.

Bored kids, Friday night… “hey my brother can score!”

I thought he meant weed… “fuck yeah.”

An hour later I have a needle in my arm… I HATE needles!

Being violently sick, hugging the toilet bowl.

How many hours… I don’t know.

They tried to get me to move… I couldn’t.

They tried to get me to eat… I wouldn’t.

Coming down wasn’t fun either.

I felt sick, wrong… broken.

I wanted it to end… NOW!

I wanted to die… quickly.

The next day I lost all respect for him

He stared at me to see my reaction… “same again?”

My mind flashed back to the toilet… “are you nuts?”

I had the out I needed… “Uh, this isn’t going to work out.”

I haven’t seen him since.

Gimme your thoughts...

