Motivation

I may only be 3 days into sobriety but I am struggling.

I used to wake up, and within 15 mins I would have most of my day planned out and within half hour of that I would have started on the list of things I had in my head. I would use alcohol as a motivational tool most days. Tell myself that once certain jobs where done I could have a drink. Now, without the reward of a nice cold beer, I just cant seem to get anything done.

Today I got up and made my mental list of things that need doing… then I sat down and haven’t gotten back up. Without my little reward system I just don’t seem to care enough that the floors need a vacuum and the window sills need dusting.

I thought briefly that I might bake some cookies once its all done, as a replacement reward, but then I just started thinking about the mess that would make and that I would have to clean that up as well.

I think staying sober is going to be a lot harder than I thought it would be. It goes beyond just not drinking. It seems to be a greater part of my life than even I had recognised.

Perhaps I will just go back to bed.

2 responses to “Motivation

  1. You gotta put in the werk, yo! Rather than beer or cookies, maybe sit down and watch an episode of a show you’ve been wanting to start. Pick up a candy bar, make a speciality ‘alcohol free’ beverage for yourself, browse on etsy and pick out a something to treat yourself with once you hit your first 7 day mark.

    My work is having a Mixer event tonight at a beer hall and I’ve opted out. I’m going home, cooking dinner, maybe napping and hitting the yoga mat. Possibly followed up by some chips and guac. We can do dis 🙂 . Half the battle is coming up with healthy habits to replace the old ones.

  2. I’m right there with you… counting the days and trying to find anything to get through each night. Hang in there, you can do this x

Gimme your thoughts...

